The Cambridge History of Australian Literature (2009), by Peter Pierce, calls Antipodes “the most significant overseas journal of Australian literature.”

Antipodes, the official journal of the American Association of Australasian Literary Studies (AAALS), has its own website. The journal is published in June and December of each year. It welcomes critical essays on any aspect of Australian and New Zealand literature and culture, and comparative studies are especially encouraged. Antipodes also furnishes readers with an annual bibliography of Australasian literature and criticism published in North America.

Additionally, Antipodes welcomes short fiction, excerpts from novels, drama, creative nonfiction, and poetry written by Australian and New Zealand authors. Antipodes has published work by many of Australasia’s leading writers, including Tim Winton, A.D. Hope, Thea Astley, Les Murray, Thomas Keneally, Janette Turner Hospital, Peter Carey, Dorothy Hewett, Chris Wallace-Crabbe, Dorothy Porter, Thomas Shapcott, Elizabeth Jolley, Gwen Harwood, Archie Weller, John Kinsella, David Malouf, Ouyang Yu, John Tranter, Frank Moorhouse, Peter Porter, and M.T.C. Cronin.

Antipodes is a peer-reviewed journal indexed in both the MLA International Bibliography and AustLit. It is published by Wayne State University Press with support from Vassar College.


Antipodes accepts submissions in the following genres: critical essays, interviews, fiction, drama, poetry, creative nonfiction, and book reviews. All critical essays submitted to the journal will be subject to peer review, while submissions in other genres will be assessed by the relevant section editor.

For the journal’s most up-to-date submission guidelines, please visit the website of our publisher, Wayne State University Press.

Creative Writing Competition

Antipodes also accepts submissions for its annual Creative Writing Competition. In 2024, the American Association of Australasian Literary Studies (AAALS), together with the American Australian Association, welcomed submissions to the fourth annual Creative Writing Competition from March 1 through March 31. The Creative Writing Competition includes the following three prizes: AAALS Poetry Prize, AAALS Creative Prose Prize, and AAALS Indigenous Writers PrizeThe winners will be awarded US$500 cash prizes and publication in Antipodes.

Full details of the 2024 Creative Writing Competition, including all three prizes, can be found here. Additional details about the AAALS Indigenous Writers Prize are available here.

The judges of the 2024 AAALS Creative Writing Competition were as follows:
  • AAALS Fiction & Nonfiction Prize: Raindrop Wright and Rachel Robertson
  • AAALS Poetry Prize: Susan Bradley Smith and Nathanael O’Reilly
  • AAALS Indigenous Writers Prize: Cass Lynch (Koreng Wudjari Noongar) and Vaughan Rapatahana (Te Ātiawa)

Winners of the AAALS Indigenous Writers Prize:
2024: “Being Country’s Soft Butch” by Ellen van Neerven, Mununjali Yugambeh

2023: “The Perfume Pagoda: Travels with My Mother” (creative prose) by Victoria G. Williams, Warraimaay; and “Hinting at Decolonization” (poetry) by Nicola Andrews, Ngāti Paoa

Winners of the AAALS Creative Prose Prize:
2024: “Hebe’s Lament” by Gay L. Lynch

2023: “Slippery Jacks” by Jane N. Downing

Winners of the AAALS Poetry Prize:
2024: “X-ray” by Anne M. Casey

2023: “Mnemonics for Thelonius Monk” by Gershon D. Maller

Honorable Mentions for the AAALS Poetry Prize:
2024: “Downtime” by Gregory Daly


Individuals and institutions wishing to subscribe to Antipodes (or to purchase a single copy) should visit the website of our publisher, Wayne State University Press.

Editorial Board

Brenda Machosky, University of Hawai’i—West O’ahu
Associate Editor
Belinda Wheeler, Claflin University
Poetry Editor
Paul Kane, Vassar College
Reviews Editor
Richard Carr, University of Alaska Fairbanks
Editorial Advisory Board Members
Donna Coates, University of Calgary
Nicholas Dunlop, University of South Wales
Michael Griffiths, University of Wollongong
Christopher Lee, Griffith University
David McCooey, Deakin University
Chris Prentice, University of Otago
Elaine Savory, New School
John Scheckter, Long Island University
Alice Te Punga Somerville, University of Waikato
Past Editors
Robert Ross (1934–2005), University of Texas at Austin
Nicholas Birns, New York University

Current and Back issues

Details of the most recent issue of Antipodes, as well as issues dating back to 1995, can be found on the website of our publisher, Wayne State University Press.

Antipodes has published special issues on topics including Disability (36.1), Christos Tsiolkas (35.1–2), Book History and Publishing Studies (35.1–2)Articulating Southeast Asia in the Antipodes (33.2), Alexis Wright (33.1)Pedagogy Down Under (28.1), Australia and the 1960s (27.1), Transnational Antipodeanism (25.2), Asian–Australian Connections (25.1), Latin American–Australian Connections (24.2), Fear in Australian Literature and Film (23.1), Brian Kiernan (22.1), Robert Ross (19.2), and Australian Film (13.2).